• 2023 Campers

    The 8 time Maryland State Football Champions, Allegany Campers, concluded their 2022 season with a winning record, going 7-4 and unfortunately losing in the second round of the playoffs to Fort Hill. The Campers, led by 8th year head coach Bryan Hansel, had some key wins against surrounding schools, finishing 3rd in the area. Allegany had some trouble against certain area teams, losing to Mountain Ridge and Fort Hill, extending the Sentinel’s Homecoming streak to 16 straight wins. Big Blue looks to work hard this upcoming season and come back better than ever this year. Allegany’s dominance on the gridiron began 92 years ago, with Walter Bowers taking the initiative as the first head coach of the varsity football team. While playing future longtime rivals and powerhouses (Keyser, Martinsburg, St. Johns), the team posted their first season record with 7 wins, 2 losses, and 1 tie.

    The Campers hoisted their first state championship trophy in 1978 (11-1). The next two championships came in 1980(12-0) and 1983 (12-0). All 3 championships came under the head coaching gig of James Refosco. The Campers waited 8 long years before the late coach Jack Gilmore and his team brought back the 4th, 5th, and 6th state championships to Campobello.

    The 4th (1988) and 5th (1989) state titles that Allegany brought back were the first back to back state championships in the history of the school, behind the arm of Scott Bauer. The 6th title came in 1991 capping Gilmore’s legacy at Allegany before returning for 2 years in 2002 and 2003. Tim Kane led the 2001 Campers to their 7th state championship after defeating Oakland Mills 27-26 in Kane’s final game coaching for Allegany. 2005 was the last football title that the Campers brought back to Sedgwick Street. Head coach Tom Preaskorn led his 13-0 undefeated team down to Ravens’ Stadium and gave Snow Hill a 41-20 Allegany beatdown, capping the last undefeated season the Campers have had.

    Since 2005, Allegany has made an appearance in the playoffs 11 times and made a trip to the state finals game in 2007 with a 13-0 record before they fell to the Dunbar Poets, led by running back and later WVU star, Tavon Austin.

    The Campers look to continue the Allegany football legacy on the gridiron this year led by team captains Brody Williams, Brett Patterson, Zach Michael and Kenneth Ringgold.