Return to Headlines

David Buskirk of Beall Elementary School Named 2024-2025 ACPS Teacher of the Year

On Monday, March 11, 2024, the Board of Education of Allegany County hosted the 36th Annual Teacher of the Year Celebration. This year’s award celebration was once again held virtually.  Six ACPS educators were honored for their dedication and commitment to student success. David Buskirk of Beall Elementary was selected as the 2024-2025 Allegany County Teacher of the Year.  

David Buskirk is a kindergarten teacher at Beall Elementary School with 15 years of teaching experience. He is a graduate of Frostburg State University, where he received his Master’s Degree in Administration and Supervision in 2012 and his Bachelor’s Degree in Elementary Education in 2009. Mr. Buskirk serves as the co-chair for the school’s ELA team, is a member of the school improvement team, and the attendance team. He has served his community as a coach and volunteer for Allegany County Special Olympics. Mr. Buskirk also serves as a mentor for student interns, and is currently seeking his National Board Certification.

"I am honored to have been selected as the 2024-2025 Allegany County Teacher of the Year,” says Buskirk. “Being a teacher is something I have always dreamed about doing, and I am so fortunate to live out this dream daily at Beall Elementary School. I am so thankful for my colleagues, administration, and, most importantly, my students, who have made me the teacher I am today."

Five other Allegany County Teacher of the Year finalists were recognized during the virtual celebration. These educators include: Jaclyn Boor, Braddock Middle School; Tina Kimmell, Flintstone Elementary School; Matthew Kline, Mount Savage School; Anne Stark, Allegany High School; and Jodie Sweeney, Cresaptown Elementary School.

Special presentations from Allegany County Public Schools included Mr. Jeff Blank, Superintendent of Schools, Mr. Robert Farrell, President of the Board of Education, and Dr. Joseph Thompson, last year’s Teacher of the Year. Representatives from Frostburg State University, the Allegany County Education Association, Allegany College of Maryland, and the Allegany County Chamber of Commerce also provided video presentations to this year’s winner.

The sponsors of the 36th Annual Teacher of the Year celebration included Allegany College of Maryland, Allegany County Board of Education, Allegany County Chamber of Commerce, Allegany County Board of Commissioners, Allegany County Education Association, ACT 1st Federal Credit Union, Frostburg State University, Ryan and Catie Brenneman, G&G Studios, Chick-fil-A LaVale, the Sandhir Foundation, and Queen City Creamery. Special thanks to Oscar’s Restaurant and the Career Center Printing Department for their support as well.

Each year a selection committee is formed to choose the winner of this prestigious award. This year’s selection committee was comprised of Dr. Joseph Thompson, 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year; Mrs. Jennifer Howell, Allegany County Government; Mrs. Juli McCoy, Allegany County Chamber of Commerce; Mrs. Jen Flinn, Bishop Walsh, and Mrs. Kate Tummino, Allegany College of Maryland.

David Buskirk will now join other local Teachers of the Year as a candidate for the Maryland Teacher of the Year.  These individuals will be honored at a meeting of the State Board of Education, and five state semifinalists will be invited to a reception in the fall for the announcement of the Maryland Teacher of the Year.