Return to Headlines

Allegany High School Chapter of the National Honor Society Holds Induction

nhs 62 Students Meet High Standards of Scholarship, Service, Leadership, Character


Sixty-two junior and senior students from Allegany High School were inducted into membership of the National Honor Society (NHS) on Tuesday, November 12, 2019, in front of other juniors and seniors, parents, and staff. They joined 36 current senior members who were inducted last year. Conducting the school-wide ceremony were Isaac Zais, President; Tyler Morgan, Vice-President; Gabrielle Salas, Secretary/Historian; and Omaer Naeem, Treasurer.


Several honored guests were also in attendance including Interim Superintendent of Schools, Jeffrey Blank; school board member, Tammy Fraley; Braddock Middle School Principal, Dr. Molly Stewart; and Center for Career and Technical Education Guidance Counselor, Jenean Fazenbaker. The ceremony was held in the school’s theatre and observable via live-stream school-wide to sophomores and freshmen.


New members meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, and character were selected by a committee of faculty members following an extensive paperwork and verification process. New senior members included: Allison Atkinson, B'Elanna Bittinger, Haley Bloom, Azlynn     Duckworth, Taylor Hillegas, Olivia Klemm, Kennedy Robinette, Haylei Salonish, Shayna Screen, and Lexi Shipley.


New junior inductees included: Averi Ansel, Erica Bennett, Grant Cain, Mandy Chucci, Emma Cook, Sophie Cramer, Richard Day, Madison DeVore, Emily Evans, Brittney Faith, Samara Funk, Cassidy Galliher, Katelyn Halle, Ariana Hedrick, Daniel Highland, Shelby Holt, Eve Hutcherson, Hannah Johnson, Anthony Joseph, Nevaeh Kendall, Robin Erick Kirchner, Anastasia Klein, Sydney Lechliter, Jacob Litman, Makenna Lowery, Elizabeth Maust, Blake McCloskey, Taylor McCloskey, Olympia Miltenberger, Kyeli Minke, Hannah Moore, Emalee Nave, Avery Nies, Kelsey O'Neal, Kyra Pittman, Trevan Powell, Toby Preaskorn, Emma Pyles, Annika Reddy, Caitlin Rosenberger, Kiersten           Shirey, Zoe Simon, Hailey Snyder, Ila Steelman, Katherine Sterne, Logan Trautwein, Brianna Westfall, Ariadine Witmer, Lexis Zalewski, and Josey Zeunges.


Foreign Exchange students inducted as honorary members were Lara Krahlisch from Germany and Praipha Labpoonniwat from Thailand.


Current senior members, inducted last year and who have remained members in good standing, also participated in the ceremony. These students included Keyaria Arbogast, Alex Bennett, Lydia Deneen, Tyler Dicken, Emily Ellsworth, Skylar Ellsworth, Lyndsey Evix, Allison Growden, Madison Haynal, Jackson Hendershot, Chloe Hinkle, Trinity Imes, Gregory Jackson, Hailey Jenkins, Kendal Johnson, Samantha Kelly, Kennedy Koelker, Vy Le, Kalyn Lutton, Cora Madden, Lydia Martz, Lillian McKenzie, Roudell Moffett, Kole Morgan, Tyler Morgan, Omaer Naeem, Allyson Norris, Julia Persons, Noah Peterson, Paris Phillips, Peytyn Resseger, Gabrielle Salas, Caitlyn Uhl, Brennan White, Hannah Willetts, and Isaac Zais.


The keynote speaker for the ceremony, chosen by the NHS members, was Allegany High School’s Teacher of the Year, Tammy Twigg. The other speaker for the ceremony was Principal of Allegany High School, Heidi Laupert. The Faculty Council at Allegany High School includes co-advisors Dr. Lori Brown and Dr. Kay Sheehe along with James Bucy, Betsy Geiger, Kevin Wallace, and Desiree Witt.


The NHS members are pleased to support the academic needs of all students by walk-in and scheduled lunchtime tutoring and support the “Allegany in 3D” initiative; Campers are Dependable, Dignified, and Determined.


The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students. Chapters exist in three-fourths of the nation’s high schools and, since 1921, millions of students have been selected for membership. The Allegany High School Chapter, now in its 66th year, originated in 1954. Each participating chapter develops bylaws, which must be approved by the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP).


Photo by G & G Studio.


Published 11/21/19