Return to Headlines

We Are Fort Hill Committee Announces HOF Inductees

Carl Harbaugh, Stephen Jones, Glen Ray, Susan Stanton to be honored at Luncheon


The We Are Fort Hill Committee has announced that Carl Ray Harbaugh, Stephen B. Jones, Glen Ray, and Susan Babcock Stanton have been selected as this year’s Hall of Fame inductees. The committee will honor the foursome at a recognition luncheon scheduled for the fall. Tickets to the luncheon will be available in the school’s main office at a later date.


Carl Ray Harbaugh graduated from Fort Hill in 1957. Upon graduation from Fort Hill, he joined the U.S. Air Force and served his country for four years. After he completed his military service, Harbaugh joined the Maryland State Police, where he remained for 24 years. He continued his education after joining the MSP and earned an Associate of Arts Degree from Frederick Community College, a Bachelor’s Degree in Sociology and Psychology from Mount Saint Mary’s University, and a Master’s Degree in Administration of Justice from American University. Carl retired as the Assistant Chief of Special Operation in 1985 with the rank of Major. After retiring from the MSP, Carl joined the IACP, where he served as Director of Police Organizational Services and the State and Provincial Police. When he left the IACP, he became a law enforcement consultant until he was elected Sheriff of Frederick County. Carl passed away in 2016 at the age of 76.


Stephen B. Jones, Ph. D. was a member of the Fort Hill High School Class of 1969. Jones has devoted his entire career to the study of nature and the environment and has traveled the world as an Ambassador for the science of forestry. He earned his Associate of Science Degree in Forestry from Allegany College of Maryland, his Bachelor’s of Science Degree in Forestry from the State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry, and his PhD in Resource Management, also from the State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry. Dr. Jones is the president of Great Blue Heron, LLC, which provides a platform for nature-inspired learning and leading. He is also a founding member of the Alabama State Parks Foundation, a founding council member of Edu-Alliance the North American Advisory Council, and the founder of Nature Based Leadership.


Stephen was the interim president of Fairmont State University in 2017, the president of Antioch University of New England 2013-2016, the president of Urbana University 2008-2013, the Chancellor of the University of Alaska Fairbanks 2004-2008, and the Vice Chancellor of North Carolina State University 2001-2008. Dr. Jones also held distinguished positions at Auburn University and Penn State University. He has authored several books and earned a number of honors and awards throughout his career.


Glen Ray was also a member of Fort Hill’s Class of 1957. He served his country in the U.S. Navy and attended naval electrician mate school at Great Lakes Naval Base. Glen continued his education at the Capitol Radio Institute of Engineering in Washington, D.C. After his service, he began his career at Allen Bradley in Milwaukee, WI, where he worked in the field of ferrite magnets. Glen was a pioneer in the use of permanent magnetic motors, and for this work he received ten patents and numerous awards. Glen Ray passed away in 2007 at the age of 68.


Dr. Susan B. Stanton graduated from Fort Hill High School in 1974. Following graduation, she continued her education at Allegany Community College studying dental hygiene. She continued to work hard and complete her classes and finally graduated as a Doctor of Dentistry in 1991. Along the way, Dr. Stanton worked in private practice, completed a residency at the Richmond, VA, and contributed heavily to the University of Maryland School of Dentistry as a researcher, instructor, and adjunct professor. After being awarded a prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellowship, Dr. Stanton served as a legislative assistant to Senator Bob Graham where she promoted the importance of science in legislation and health policy. Additionally, she conducted research, compiled publications, and led efforts to review, fund, and manage research programs at the Department of Health and Human Services. Dr. Stanton was recognized for all of her accomplishments, achieving the title of Senior Health Scientist in the Office of the Director of the CDC. Notably, she also served on a team at the CDC that provided surveillance for major disease outbreaks, including Norovirus and Ebola.


Nominations for the next year’s Hall of Fame are accepted until January 31, 2021. Nominees must have graduated from Fort Hill fifteen or more years ago and should be based on significant achievements in lifetime endeavors. Nomination forms are available at


Published 5/28/20