Return to Headlines

Mountain Ridge High School Hosts NHS Induction Ceremony

The Mountain Ridge High School Chapter of the National Honor Society recently held its induction ceremony for the 2022-2023 school year, welcoming 58 new members to the organization.


The NHS recognizes juniors and seniors who display outstanding accomplishment in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership and character. Students who are inducted are required to have a grade point average of 3.7 or higher. The ceremony was held in the school’s theatre under the direction of advisers, Mrs. Vicki Hoover and Mr. Todd Logsdon.  


The program opened with a processional played by Ashton Williams, followed by Leah Boggs' rendition of the National Anthem.  The event's guest speaker was Mr. Hayden Lindsey, Director of Public Works and Engineering for the City of Frostburg.


Superintendent of Schools, Mr. Jeff Blank; Mountain Ridge Principal, Mr. Danny Carter;  Mountain Ridge Assistant Principal, Mr. James Evans; and school board member, Mr. Bob Farrell was also in attendance. Four candles representing each characteristic of the NHS were lit by officers: Ashton Williams, President, scholarship; Emma Komatz, Vice President, service; Casey Culler, Secretary, leadership; and Kyler Baker, Treasurer, character.


The following students were inducted into the honor society: Kyley Alexander, Rilee Alkire, Riley Barnard, Ian Bean, Noah Blank, Camryn Bucy, Dylan Cheshire, Kellsiey Colberg, Andrew Croston, Jackson Cullen, Mia Decarlo, Anna Delaney, Mackenzie Derham, Taylor Farris, Emma Galbraith, Jacqueline, Geary, Camille Gomez, Kaylee Hardman, Cora Heavin, Mya Hockman, Maia Holloway, Annabeth Hughes, Hannah Kennell, Rhegan Lamberson, Alysa Langan, Treyten Llewellyn, Cierra Marsh, Easton Mathews, Isabella Mckenzie, Rylee Moran, Meredith Munday, William Patterson, Owen Pratt, Daniel Pressman, Brycen Ritchie, Brooke Russell, Gavin Ryan, Liam Shaw, Kaitlyn Simpson, Reghan Sivic, Iola Sloan, Oliver Sloan, Mia Smith, Jessica Snyder, Sydney Snyder, Kanyinsola Sowoolu, Morgan Steckman, Sean Strawderman, McKenna Swisher, Jacy Tinsley, Avery Tipton, Ava Tringler, Ella Valentine, Sage Viera, Kevin Wagner, Eva Winters, Erin Worgan, McKenna Zais.


The following students are senior NHS members and were inducted last year: Kyler Baker, Christian Beeman, Trinitie Beeman, Leah Boggs, Carson Bradley, Jacob Brashear,  Carley Clise, William Clise, Kaidance Colberg, Evan Cook, Cierra Cooper, Carlie Crawford, Casey Culler, Mary Delaney, Eliza Duncan, Isabelle Duncan, Gwendolyn Fazenbaker, Morgan Felker Lewis, Macy Guinn, Andrew Haberlein, William Haberlein, Sage Harris, Grayce Kidwell, Kendall Kirkwood, Brendan Kline, Nathaniel Kline, Emma Komatz, Wyatt Leasure, Meredith Lent, Allison Levitt, Zander Linn,  Landon McAlpine, Isabella McConnell, Emma Monahan, Kamden Morgan, Chase Muir, Brianna Murphy, Paige Pirolozzi, Leuma Pua’auli, Claire Raesly, Arymi Reece, Riley Ritchey, Emilee Ritchie, Tyson Shumaker, Ella Snyder, Olivia Straley, Colton Swauger, Chyanne Thompson, Jessica Tran, Hannah Warnick, George Watson, Colton Wiegand, Samantha Wiland, and Ashton Williams.


Published 12/1/22