Return to Headlines

Allegany High School’s Mock Trial Team is Maryland Circuit Four Champion

AHS Mock Trial

Allegany High School’s Mock Trial team is the Maryland Circuit Four Champion after completing their regular season with a 10-0 record. The ten matches were the most regular season matches played locally in over twenty years. Eight circuit champion schools across Maryland will begin playoffs to earn a chance to advance to play for the state championship.

Mock Trial is an academic activity by which students throughout the state are provided a casebook through MyLaw, a Maryland state organization that fosters programs to allow students to learn about our legal system through real world learning opportunities.  This year’s case is a civil suit in which “Parker Harper” is suing “Dakota Reese” for stealing ladder foot pads. The plaintiff later fell from this ladder and sustained injuries. Each team prepares lawyers and witnesses for both sides of the case. 

The ten students on the team are Seniors: Colin Sheehe (team captain), Josef Sneathen, Madeline Baker, Carli Atkinson, and Daniel Ly;  Juniors: Finnegan Gallagher, Maya Hare, and Emmanuel Kujenga; and Sophomores: Bryce Bridges and Nicholas Wilt.

The team is coached by Allegany Social Studies teacher Brian White, who has coached the mock trial team for 30 years.  This is White’s final year coaching.  Under his direction, Allegany has been the Circuit Champion 17 times, has advanced to the Final Four in State Championship competition 10 times, has been the state finalist 4 times (most recently 2022), and a State Champion 2 times (2009 and 2018).  

The current attorney coach for the team is Chris Logsdon, who is an Allegany graduate and was a member of the 2009 state championship team.

Allegany’s quarterfinal State playoff match is on March 12 at the Howard County Circuit Courthouse. 

Pictured at the Allegany County Circuit Courthouse are (l to r): Finnegan Gallagher, Carli Atkinson, Nicholas Wilt, Maya Hare, Colin Sheehe, Emmanuel Kujenga, Madeline Baker, Josef Sneathen, Daniel Ly, Bryce Bridges, Mr. Brian White, and Mr. Chris Logsdon.