Return to Headlines

Superintendent of Schools Announces Administrative Staffing Updates

New Principals Named at Mt. Savage, Frost; New Supervisor of Social Studies/Professional Learning/Title IIA/New Teachers Announced


principalsACPS Superintendent of Schools, Mr. Jeff Blank, has announced the appointment of two new principals for the upcoming school year. Dr. Laura Holland has been appointed as the new principal at Mt. Savage School, and Mrs. Tessa Fairall will be the new principal at Frost Elementary School. Additionally, Mrs. Katherine Loughrie will assume the position of Supervisor of Social Studies, Professional Learning, Title IIA, and New Teachers, filling the vacancy left upon the retirement of Dr. George Brown.


Laura Holland will fill the vacancy left by Martin Crump at Mt. Savage, who retired at the end of the school year. She began her career in the Allegany County Public School System in 1996 as a special education and English teacher at Braddock Middle School. Laura has also taught English at Fort Hill High School, and was most recently the assistant principal at Braddock Middle School. Dr. Holland earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Secondary Education/Language Arts and her Master of Arts degree in Special Education, both from West Virginia University. She also holds a Doctor of Education degree in Education Leadership, also from WVU.


“I am humbled and thankful for the opportunity to serve the community of Mount Savage,” said Holland. “I look forward to working with our future leaders and developing an atmosphere that will foster growth within the academic community.”


Tessa Fairall will take over as the new principal at Frost, filling the vacancy left by Kim Smith, who also recently retired. She began her tenure with ACPS in 2001 as a teacher at both Cash Valley and John Humbird Elementary Schools. Mrs. Fairall has also been an elementary math specialist at several schools in the system as well as an assistant principal at Washington Middle School. She has most recently been the assistant principal at South Penn Elementary School. Mrs. Fairall holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary/Middle School Education and a Master of Education degree in Administration and Supervision, both from Frostburg State University.


“I am truly honored and excited to begin the next chapter of my career as the principal at Frost Elementary,” said Fairall. “In collaboration with faculty, families, and students, my dedication will be to continuing to provide our students with positive learning experiences through a rigorous and challenging academic program. Together, through a positive growth mindset, we will empower students.”


Katherine Loughrie was hired in ACPS in 2005 as a social studies teacher at Fort Hill High School. She later became an assistant principal at Mountain Ridge High School, where she has remained ever since. Mrs. Loughrie holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Secondary Education/Social Studies and a Master of Education degree in Secondary Curriculum and Instruction, both from Frostburg State University. 


“I look forward to using my background in curriculum and instruction to establish an educational program conducive to student learning and socialization,” said Loughrie. “I seek to promote staff professional growth and development, as well as teamwork and cooperation.”


In addition, Mr. Blank also reassigned the following individuals from interim to permanent principal positions effective July 1st: Misty Dotson, principal at Beall Elementary School; Derek Horne, principal at Westernport Elementary School; and Shannon Ralston, principal at Flintstone Elementary School.


Published 6/10/21